Summary of Graduate Fees
Lamar University reserves the right to change fees in keeping with acts of the Texas Legislation and rules and regulations of the Texas State University System. By registering for classes at the university, the student agrees to abide by all the policies of the university.
Payment of Fees
A student is not registered until all fees that are due have been paid in full or the student has paid the equivalent of a down payment on the installment plan (if available). Payment may be made by check, MasterCard/Discover/AMEX/Visa, money order, currency, or any kind of financial assistance (exemptions, loans, grants, and scholarships). Checks and money orders should be made payable to Lamar University and will be accepted subject to final payment. The university will not accept counter checks, postdated checks, credit card checks, or altered checks. Excess payments will be refunded through the Cardinal One card at the discretion of the university. Students on a “cash only” basis will be restricted to paying by MasterCard/Discover/AMEX, money orders, currency, or financial assistance.
- All forms of payment may be made at the Cashier’s office during working hours.
- Payments may be made on the Internet at www.lamar.edu/pay.
- Checks or money orders may be mailed to:
P.O. Box 10183
Beaumont, TX 77710
Students who are delinquent on obligations will be prohibited from registering for class until all obligations are paid in full. Also, holds are placed on academic records so that students cannot obtain transcripts until all obligations are paid in full.
Delinquent obligations to the university will be sent to a collection agency and reported to credit bureaus. All costs of collections are paid by the student, which is generally an additional 33.333 percent of the student’s obligations to the university. Delinquent accounts must be paid at the collection agency. Payment cannot be accepted by Lamar University if the account has been forwarded to a collection agency.
Deferment Plan Payments
Deferment payments are available for qualified students who are unable to pay by the posted due dates. Students may apply for the Deferment Plan online at https://www.lamar.edu/students/paying-for-school/cashier-payment-options.html or at the Cashier’s Department in the Wimberly Building. Once approved, the plan will be posted to your account and you will not be dropped from your courses.
Installment Payment Program
This plan is offered during the Fall and Spring terms only. A down payment of $50 is due at the time of enrollment into the payment plan. Four equal installments of the remaining balance will be due before the end of the term. A $20 non-refundable enrollment fee is assessed for enrollment into this plan and $15 late fees will be applied if installment payments are not paid on time. For more information on the details of this payment plan, please visit https://www.lamar.edu/students/paying-for-school/cashier-payment-options.html.
Note: Installment plans will not be posted to your account until a $50 payment is made.
For detailed information on tuition and fees please refer to https://www.lamar.edu/tuition.
Student Responsibility for Residence Classification
Texas law specifies that if there is any question as to the student’s right to classification as a resident of Texas, it is the student’s responsibility to
- have his or her classification officially determined
- to register under the proper classification.
Students are classified as resident, nonresident, or foreign for tuition purposes according to state statutes (Title 3, Texas Education Code) and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board rules and regulations interpreting these statutes. These statutes, rules, and regulations are available from the Office of Admissions Services in the John Gray Center, Building A. Questions should be directed to that office.
Any student who is classified as a resident student but who becomes a nonresident at any time, by virtue of a change of legal residence by his/her own action or by the person controlling the student’s domicile, is required to notify the registrar.
Teaching and research assistantships as well as scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis and are available in the various graduate departments. Additional information may be obtained either from the department chair or from the dean of the College of Graduate Studies. Assistantships are awarded only to those individuals who meet all requirements for admission to a graduate degree program.
Graduate assistantships at the master’s and doctoral levels are available in a number of academic departments. All assistantships are intended to be of direct educational benefit to appointees. In order to be approved by the dean of graduate studies, an assistantship appointment must relate to the student’s academic objective and be supervised by Lamar University faculty. Graduate assistants are Lamar University employees who are also graduate students. They are employed by a department or college to instruct in classrooms and labs, advise undergraduate students, proctor exams, supervise practica, assist in research and creative activity, or perform other teaching, research, or creative duties.
Under specified conditions, Texas law permits the waiver of out-of-state tuition status for some classifications of graduate assistants. When these conditions are met, graduate assistants may be allowed to pay tuition at the less expensive instate or Texas resident rate. In addition, local tuition, graduate tuition, and some fees are waived for full-time doctoral students who satisfy certain criteria. Forms are available in the student’s major department to apply for this later waiver of tuition and some other fees.
Publication of and Public Access to Thesis/Field Study/Dissertation Abstracts
The Graduate Council requires that thesis, field study, and dissertation abstracts be published by University Microfilms. Fees for this service are included in the binding fees. If copyrighting is desired, the cost is $55. All theses, field studies, and dissertations will be placed in the library if permission to do so is granted by the student.
Refund of Tuition and/or Fees
Students requesting a refund of tuition and/or fees resulting from dropped courses or from withdrawing from the university should direct questions to the Cashiers’ Office. Withdrawal refunds are calculated as a percentage of total fees assessed, not as a percentage of partial payments on installments. Refunds for dropped classes are generally processed at the end of the second week past the 12th semester day of regular semesters and after the 4th semester day during summer sessions. Refunds for withdrawals are generally processed at the end of the second week following the 12th semester day for regular semesters and two weeks after the 6th semester day for summer sessions.
Graduate students taking five-week courses may view the calendar for refunds.
In order to receive a 100% reduction of tuition and fees for dropped courses, a student must drop according to the following schedule and remain in at least one course at the university for that semester. Questions should be directed to the Cashiers’ Office.
In the fall or spring semester, through the twelfth semester day, 100 percent. After the twelfth semester day, no refund.
In the summer session, through the fourth semester day, 100 percent. After the fourth semester day, no refund.
Withdrawal from the University
Tuition and fees may be reduced when a student withdraws. Depending on the amount of reduction and what the student has paid, the student may receive a refund or may still owe money to the university. Any student who officially withdraws from the university will receive a reduction in tuition and fees according to the following schedule.
Fall or Spring Semester
- Prior to the first semester day, 100 percent, less a $15 matriculation fee.
- During the first through fifth semester days, 80 percent.
- During the sixth through tenth semester days, 70 percent.
- During the eleventh through fifteenth semester days, 50 percent.
- During the sixteenth through twentieth semester days, 25 percent.
- After the twentieth semester day, none.
- Prior to the first semester day, 100 percent, less a $15 matriculation fee.
- During the first, second or third semester day, 80 percent.
- During the fourth, fifth or sixth semester day, 50 percent.
- Seventh semester day and after, none.
Summary of Fees
For detailed information on tuition and fees please refer to https://www.lamar.edu/tuition
- Thesis, field study, or dissertation printing and binding: $.07 per black/white page, $.17 per color page for printing, a flat rate of $8.20 per book for binding.
- Master's Diploma - $22.45
- Master's additional diploma - $10.60
- Doctoral Diploma $44.45
- Doctoral additional diploma – $20.60
- Master's Cap, gown and hood (plus tax) – $75.96. Order from bookstore/purchase only.
- Doctoral Cap, gown and hood (plus tax) – $81.96. Order from bookstore/allow six to eight weeks for delivery.
- Transcript Fee – $5.00
- Photo Identification – $5.00
- Insufficient Funds Fees. Checks written to the university and returned unpaid for any reason will result in a $25 charge plus applicable fees for a delinquent account (e.g., $10 late registration fee, $15 late installment payment fee, etc.). Students with a returned check will be on “cash only” status for the duration of their enrollment at Lamar University, subject to appeal. Students on a “cash only” basis are prohibited from paying with a personal check (all other payment methods are acceptable).
- Fine and Breakage Loss. All library fines, charges for breakage or loss of equipment, or other charges must be paid before a transcript of credit or a permit to re-enter the university will be issued.
- Matriculation Fee. A matriculation fee of $15 will be incurred by students who withdraw prior to the first day of class. This $15 fee will be deducted from refunds.
Questions concerning the housing program, its policies, and room and board rates, should be directed to:
Beaumont, Texas 77710